![]() |
| If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. |
|
|||||||
| uk.tech.digital-tv (Digital TV - General) (uk.tech.digital-tv) Discussion of all matters technical in origin related to the reception of digital television transmissions, be they via satellite, terrestrial or cable. Advertising is forbidden, with no exceptions. |
|
|
Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
#1
|
|||
|
|||
|
I thought this was particularly slack from the phisher, this came from
Barclays with a dodgy attachment for the entry of details: Dear Valued Customer We believe that Invention of security measures is the best way to beat online fraud. Lloyds TSB Bank have employed some industrial leading models to start performing an extra security check with Your Online Banking Activities to ensure a safe and secure Online Banking. You are requested to follow the provided steps and Update Your Online Banking details, for the safety of Your Accounts by downloading the attached form and follow the instructions on your screen. If you choose to ignore our request, you leave us no choice but to temporary suspend your account. Thanks you for your patience as we work together to protect your account. Sincerely, Barclays Online Bank Customer Service. *Important* Please update your records on or before 48 hours, a failure to update your records will result in a temporary hold on your funds. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- © 2011 Barclays Bank plc . All rights reserved. |
|
#3
|
|||
|
|||
|
On Thu, 22 Dec 2011 16:10:38 +0000 (UTC), J G Miller wrote:
Well not actually from Barclays in fact. Err yes, I'm aware of that, forgot the quotes. I was pointing that the text said LloydsTSB, it came from 'Barclays' & was signed by Barclays. Usually they put a little more effort into these things. |
|
#4
|
|||
|
|||
|
Daniallo wrote:
On Thu, 22 Dec 2011 16:10:38 +0000 (UTC), J G Miller wrote: Well not actually from Barclays in fact. Err yes, I'm aware of that, forgot the quotes. I was pointing that the text said LloydsTSB, it came from 'Barclays' & was signed by Barclays. Usually they put a little more effort into these things. Cut and paste, without any thought or attention. Much like many 'genuine' communications you receive in this day and age ! -- Mark Please replace invalid and invalid with gmx and net to reply. www.paras.org.uk |
|
#5
|
|||
|
|||
|
"Mark Carver" wrote in message ... Daniallo wrote: On Thu, 22 Dec 2011 16:10:38 +0000 (UTC), J G Miller wrote: Well not actually from Barclays in fact. Err yes, I'm aware of that, forgot the quotes. I was pointing that the text said LloydsTSB, it came from 'Barclays' & was signed by Barclays. Usually they put a little more effort into these things. Cut and paste, without any thought or attention. Much like many 'genuine' communications you receive in this day and age ! Indeed. Although an interesting one last week was the letter I received from Tesco Credit Card Fraud Dept in Southend, which arrived in a Natwest envelope with a London return postcode! |
|
#6
|
|||
|
|||
|
On Thu, 22 Dec 2011 17:10:43 +0000, Daniallo wrote:
On Thu, 22 Dec 2011 16:10:38 +0000 (UTC), J G Miller wrote: Well not actually from Barclays in fact. Err yes, I'm aware of that, forgot the quotes. I was pointing that the text said LloydsTSB, it came from 'Barclays' & was signed by Barclays. Usually they put a little more effort into these things. They usually do. I had one allegedly from Lloyds TSB. It said: To access your statement,click on the link below. https://online.lloydstsb.co.uk/e-statement/ The actual url behind that innocent-looking text was: http://abpecas.com.br/.cgi-bin/index.html -- Peter Duncanson (in uk.tech.digital-tv) |
|
#7
|
|||
|
|||
|
On Thursday, December 22nd, 2011 18:47:45 +0000, Peter Duncanson wrote:
The actual url behind that innocent-looking text was: http://abpecas.com.br/.cgi-bin/index.html Do you notice the period "." before the cgi-bin ?? That is a good sign that what has happened is that the machine hosting the abpecas.com.br web site (which is legitimate) has been cracked and the crackers have used instead of the expected directory "cgi-bin" directory a so called "hidden" directory ".cgi-bin" to store their illicit harvesting web pages. Somebody doing a directory listing would not see the .. directories with a simple ls, and using an ls -l might not even notice .cgi-bin in addition to cgi-bin or think it out of the ordinary. What it most probably reveals is that the people who set up the abpecas.com.br site were incompetent at security because they have allowed their site to be compromised and in all likelihood will have not been aware that their site was cracked. |
|
#8
|
|||
|
|||
|
On Thu, 22 Dec 2011 23:33:55 UTC, J G Miller wrote:
snip Somebody doing a directory listing would not see the . directories with a simple ls, and using an ls -l might not even notice .cgi-bin in addition to cgi-bin or think it out of the ordinary. I think you mean "ls -a" to show "dot" files. :-) -- Regards Dave Saville |
|
#9
|
|||
|
|||
|
On Friday, December 23rd, 2011, at 13:29:21h +0000, Dave Saville wrote:
I think you mean "ls -a" to show "dot" files. :-) Indeed yes. -A to omit current directory . and upper directory .. but all other dot entities -a to show everything. -l for long listing For keeping an eye on (modification time) changed directory content ls -aFlrst |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|